02/28/08 – a missed trade

February 28, 2008

Cable & Deadpool/Deadpool Team-Up 50

Great final issue. I’m going to miss this title, but I’ll miss Fabian (the writer) even more. His Marvel work (sorry, no knowledge of work outside Marvel) has been a joy for me to read over the last 10 years or so. His Thunderbolts run was excellent, and this title was right up there too. The little book that could – it made it 50 issues! To be canceled & replaced by 2 new series (wasn’t Marvel trying to trim its X-line BACK?). Deadpool by Daniel Way I think…if his DP in Origins in any indicator of that title will be like..S K I P. The stupid-funny sight gag DP has been done and done-er IMHO. I like Fabians DP-redemption-silliness+awesome supporting cast much more than what I’ve seen so far in the Origins arc. Speaking of:

I cancelled Wolverine: Origins from my pull list.

Too fucking slow. Is anything happening here? Anything related to his origin that is? So far it’s just another stupid Wolverine book with ONE tiny, annoying “origin related” clue thrown in per arc. It’s supposed to end (and have an ending, and actually answer questions!) around issue 60. So, if by then it has turned the suckage around (which it may), I’ll pick up the trades. In softcover.

X-Men Legacy 208

This should be interesting – a solo Professor X title, at least until he gets all healed up, or some junk. It is interesting so far, one issue in :P. It’s Exodus trying to put Chuck’s mind back together (where exactly is he storing the missing memories, in his own head??) via Romita Sr. drawn flashbacks. Off to a decent start, but not much to say. Well, the inclusion of Karima/Omega Sentinel is interesting – I’m guessing Mr. Carey wanted to bring at least one of his previous X-cast members along.

Speaking of Mike Carey, somehow I missed

Lucifer vol. 11: Evensong

WTF!?! I’ve had the entire run of trades since whenever volume 10 came out, and I never noticed/knew there was a volume 11. 10 had such a great ending, I just assumed it was the actual series ending – and I never once questioned that! That’s good writing.

I have yet to finish this volume, so I’ll probably come back to it later review-wise, but the rest of the series was home run after run, so I doubt this will be any less.

Mighty Avengers 9

This issue had the first missed note so far of the run for me. I really didn’t like the time-travel ending BUT I’ll give Bendis the benefit of the doubt. I’m fairly sure it well wrap up well, it just annoyed me that it ended the way it did for whatever reason.

The Iron Man v. Doom by way of armor stat progress reports was interesting.

Bendis mentioned in an interview somewhere that this arc has a “Doom ending no one has done before”. I have no idea what that might mean, but I am at least curious.

New Warriors 9

Not a whole lot happened here, but there was still a lot of drama in between those non-things happening.

That being said, I’m still enjoying the series. I see it getting a bit of negative commentary in the blogo-whatsit, people calling for it to be canceled over on Tom Brevort’s blog (link in my sidebar), stuff like that.

MAN. People have no patience these days. It’s obvious that the writer is building up a larger arc behind all the minis and one-offs, the least we can do is let that arc wrap up and see if we like how that falls out.

Still, even without that I’m enjoying this title, slow issues and all. What I’m not digging so much is the pencils. I’ll have to check, but it seems like they change every month. Oh, and have I already bitched about Angel looking totally different? Yeah, I have, so I’ll just say it again. There was no need to make her all streamlined and thin-sexy, she was fine the way she was. Butwhateva.

Thunderbolts: International Incident

Another of these strange one-offs that keep coming out. This one doesn’t do much to advance the series. It does continue to unwind the (at least it seems that way to me) the character work Fabian did with Swordsm..ok, pretty much with everyone.

But it is in line with what’s going on in the main book I guess, and it’s not a bad read – it might even have repercussions in the main series somehow. Although I don’t know how, since I’m pretty sure Ellis (??Ithink?? brain fart right now) has his whole run worked out already. Maybe all these one-offs are laying the ground work for whoever follows him?

Bring Fabes back, please. He’s one book short now that C&DP is canned..perrrrfeecttt timing…

The Order 1

Yeah, it’s old, but I was missing this issue from my run. I know, it’s canceled, but it’s a great little book-that-could. I understand that the new Iron Man series will pick up on the plot threads from this run, which makes sense, same writer, and the villain is an Iron Man villain anyway. I’m still not buying an Iron Man book though.

Leave a Reply

